🎉 Hurry up! The Subscription is about to get costlier. Start your NAATI Perp Now

NAATI CCL Hindi Test - An Overview

Know about NAATI CCL Test in Australia. Also, find out the languages included, test format, topics covered in the test and much more.

Nov 19, 2020


6 min read

Want to know about the NAATI CCL Exam?

Or looking for a way to gain extra points to get permanent residency in Australia? This blog will answer your questions. It will help you with a deeper insight to get you started for your preparation.

Let’s dive in to know more

What is the NAATI CCL exam in Australia?

NAATI CCL was introduced in January 2018 by the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters Ltd (NAATI). NAATI conducts two forms of tests: NAATI CLA and NAATI CCL.

Both the tests assess the language speaking skills of the candidate. The CLA test focuses on the language ability for the workplace. It is useful for the candidates to establish a career as a translator or interpreter. It additionally gives 5 extra points to these candidates.

But, the Credentialed Community Language (CCL) test measures the language ability of a candidate on a community level. It is commonly used to gain 5 extra points for Permanent Residency through point-based migration in Australia.

NAATI CCL test - Why?

One great benefit is that the test is not very difficult and can be cracked with good preparation. Since you are free to choose your native or desired language from the below-mentioned 49 LOTE (Language Other Than English), it means that you will already be quite familiar with the language you opt for.

The end product of giving the NAATI CCL test is the 5 extra points you get for permanent residency in Australia. This is a great way to earn points.

Languages included in the NAATI CCL Test

The CCL test assesses your ability to interpret a Language Other Than English (LOTE) to English and vice-versa. It covers a range of languages that you can choose from. Always choose the language you are most comfortable and familiar with. Below is a list of all 49 LOTE that you have the freedom to choose from:

Languages included in the NAATI CCL Test

Eligibility criteria for NAATI CCL Test

The only requirement for the candidate to apply for the NAATI CCL test is to have either the 489 visa or 190 visa or 189 visa.

How to apply for the NAATI CCL Test?

Once you have decided to give NAATI CCL and have chosen the desired LOTE, all that is left to do is submit your application in the myNAATI portal.

You will be required to attach some additional documents to your online application such as identity documents, photos, and academic transcripts.

After creating your profile and submitting your application, it can take up to 7 working days for your application to be reviewed and processed. The status of your application will be provided to you by email after which, if your application is successful, you will be required to take the final step which is selecting your test date and making the payment.


An amount of $800 must be paid to successfully register for the Credentialed Community Language (CCL) test. This will be the final step of the registration process and will be completed only after an email of confirmation is sent stating that the application is accepted.

NAATI CCL Hindi test format

You will have to interpret two dialogues in the test. Each dialogue would be a conversation between a native English speaker and a Hindi (LOTE) speaker. The test will require you to translate the conversation into your chosen language (i.e., Hindi).

For example, if the given sequence of dialogue is in English, you will need to translate it to Hindi and if it is in Hindi, you will have to translate it to English.

Each of the two dialogues will have a total of around 300 words, where half would be in Hindi and half in English. Both the dialogues will be divided into smaller segments, each containing 35 words or less.

  • Each dialogue will be marked for 45 marks. So, in total, the test is for 90 marks.
  • In order to pass, you will need a minimum of 29 marks out of 45 in each dialogue and an overall score of 63 out of 90.

Note: Even if you get a total score of 63 or above and do not get at least 29 in each dialogue, it will be considered a clear fail. For example, if the total score of a candidate is 43 in one and 25 in the other dialogue, it will not be considered a pass, even though he got a total score of 68.

  • You will be given a maximum of 20 minutes to complete both dialogues.

Topics Covered in Hindi NAATI CCL test

All the dialogues are based on real-life situations in Australia and include the following areas:

  • Business
  • Community
  • Consumer Affairs
  • Education
  • Employment
  • Financial
  • Health
  • Housing
  • Immigration/Settlement
  • Insurance
  • Legal
  • Social Services

Your NAATI CCL Hindi Test score

The following two factors should be kept in mind during the test and will accordingly determine the score:

  • Language Quality – proficiency in both English and Hindi is expected.
  • Language Register – the level of formality used by the candidate to translate should be dependent on the setting and scenario of the dialogue.

Additionally, it is expected that the norms of pronunciation, the standard of expression, style, and register should not be greatly violated. The actual meaning of the dialogue should be maintained by demonstrating accurate comprehension in both Hindi and English.

Hindi NAATI CCL Test - Result declaration and validity

Your response will be marked by a minimum of two examiners separately. In case of any disagreement between the two examiners, consideration by additional examiners will help to determine the final score.

The results will be emailed to you between 4 - 6 weeks after the test date and will be valid for 3 years from the issued date.

If you fail the test, you can opt for either retest or reassessment.

Source: naati.com.au

Related Posts